New year, new beginnings…

It’s getting to be about that time where we start counting down to the end of another year and look forward to the beginning of the next. Truth be told, I’m excited! 2013 has been an amazing year of growth and learning and unexpected experiences for me, so I am happy to wrap the snake year up and welcome the year of the horse.

I’m turning 30 in 2014. The thought is scary, to a certain extent. There are things that I’ve always planned on doing that I haven’t done yet, and stuff I didn’t achieve – and that’s okay. I learned this year that plans tend to fall apart, and the world won’t end because of it. And yes, if you’re wondering – I am….or was… the byproduct of being a detailed planner when it comes to even the smallest things in life. So for the most part, I never learned to enjoy the things that happened “out” of my meticulously-thought-out-plans (until recently). But it’s amazing how you can adjust and adapt to change once you learn to let go – And this year has been that, a year of learning to let go, and knowing that whatever else that comes in place of those things that aren’t in place in your life can sometimes be greater than what you have planned.

I’m skipping the details for now, but here’s what’s going on now:

1. I’m writing a new book – I’ll put in more details as I start to flesh that out. Most of my friends and readers don’t know this yet (yes, I’ve had previous blogs and published works, but I’ll leave all that unexplained until much later).

2. I’ve just started playing the ukulele – The first musical instrument I’ve picked up after a 2-year hiatus. And I have absolutely no idea what to do with it and which fingers go where.

3. I’m loving my job (I got this job about 6 months ago), and I’m traveling so much because of it, and helping people as well (in a way), which is amazing.

So, yup there you have it. Let’s see what 2014 has in store 🙂 Most posts soon.

Slainte.

Leave a Reply

