Changing lanes: Running my first 5k

The frankathon - a charity run where funds go to cancer research and awareness. I ran a total of 8km for this one.
The frankathon – a charity run where funds go to cancer research and awareness. I ran a total of 8km for this one.

I set out to do a lot of things this year.

Running certainly wasn’t one of them, so I didn’t know what came over me when I said ‘yes’ to a colleague’s invitation to join the Music Run last March.

Running my first 5k at the Music run, in March 2014.
Running my first 5k at the Music run, in March 2014.

 

Mind you, the only exercise I have been getting at this point is the occasional climb up the stairs of my apartment whenever the lift breaks down, and that wasn’t frequent at all. My short stint with the horse-riding world had unfortunately ended when the school I frequented decided not to allow non-members to learn how to ride there anymore.

I’ll spare you the details of the trainings I had before the races themselves. It wasn’t as easy as I thought and I’m a really slow runner! I still am, but I managed to finish the music run with a smile on my face 😀

It wasn’t that run itself that boggled me. It was what happened after. I didn’t like running at all, but crossing that first finish line was it for me.

KL Heritage Night Run - 5km night race.
KL Heritage Night Run – 5km night race.

I’ve signed up for 10 races this year (so far), with a total distance of 70km.

run1
The Walk of Hope Charity Run – A run to raise awareness and funds for people who need prosthetics.

Talk about getting the runner’s high! I’ll be running a 9km and a couple of 10k races towards the end of the year, so we’ll see how much I love running after that (hopefully I’ll love it more).

Leave a Reply

