2015 – And the first quarter flies by!

Well hello there everybody! I trust that you have had a wonderful first four and half months of 2015.  I’ve been bad with updating this year because things just started happening back-to-back, and before you know it it’s already April.

Here’s  a recap of my year so far 🙂

Speaking with the children of Kampung Keluat, Kelantan. The floods have affected over 200,000 people since mid December 2014.
Speaking with the children of Kampung Pasir Tumboh, Kelantan. The floods have affected over 200,000 people since mid December 2014.

I went on a field mission to Kelantan to visit some of the villages affected by last year’s floods. Thousands of  houses were badly damaged, if not wiped away. Buildings were inundated with water that rose as high as 30 metres in some places, and the floods left a trail of devastation, mud, dust, wreckage. It was heartbreaking to see. And yet the people’s reactions to the flood have been inspiring, somewhat. Despite losing everything they owned, many of the villagers I sat down and spoke to were very welcoming, very positive, and very ready to move forward. They are slowly rebuilding their lives, with the kind help and donation of many, many Malaysians, who stepped forward to offer aid, both financially and physically, when their fellow countrymen needed help the most.

I ran my first Half Marathon with my best friends during this year's International Women's Day. Best. Experience. Ever! Photo Credit: Kelvin Tan
I ran my first Half Marathon with my best friends during this year’s International Women’s Day. Best. Experience. Ever! Photo Credit: Kelvin Tan

I ran my first half marathon. Wooot! And on the anniversary month of when I first started running. From the couch to 5k to 21km, it has been an incredible journey of self-discovery so far. I learned that I hate running as much as I love it. I learned how far I could push myself, and I also learned that you should always try something new. Running changed my life, and I have a feeling it’s one of those routines that will stick. It has come to the point where if I don’t get to run in a week, I’ll feel cranky. Three more weeks, and I’ll be running in the Borneo International (half) Marathon with my brother.

Also, there’s this:

Wait, what? Are you nuts?
Wait, what? Are you nuts?

Nuts? Yes, maybe. I’m learning how to swim. I’m saving up for a bike. I’m thinking of signing up for a sprint triathlon next year. Ha! Let’s see.

peachy2
Hello, my name is Peaches McFurrington Fuzzypants Koeck. Nicknames include Peaches, Peachy, Peachy Cat, Peachy-poo, and Terpleot (Peot)

I was driving towards the bank on an errand with my Mom when we saw a little kitten dashing across the street after being hit by a taxi. This is one of those fortunate-strokes-of-serendipity-type moments. I parked my car at the side of the very busy road, and without thinking, dashed over to the other side, scooped the frightened and hurt kitten up, and brought her home with me. Some food, a bath, and a vet visit later, Peachy Cat came to stay.  I never knew you could get so attached to a little cat, but there you go. We’ve formed quite the bond, and Peachy is now a beloved member of the Koeck family.

That’s it for now 🙂 There are several more things happening, but I’ll post those updates here when they happen.

How is your year going so far?

Leave a comment